quick update

October 1, 2008 at 5:07 am 4 comments

I went to hospital this morning for some monitoring and bloodwork.  Baby looked great on NST, he’s a feisty guy and really hates the monitors but we nail him down long enough to get some good tracings it just takes a while. Sweetlove was the same way when I did the NST’s with him, the nurses would say I’m in for it, and true enough, he’s such a little spitfire.  Anyways, that’s the good news.  The bad news is my BP was up to 190/95 and protein was +1, not sure what the lab analysis was, I didn’t even ask. They let me go home on strict orders to watch for symptoms and not move a muscle, ie strict bedrest. Easier said than done but with pressures like that, I need to be better at this. I go back on Friday and I have a feeling this weekend might spell the end and the beginning all at the same time, if you know what I mean! I’ll be 35 weeks on Saturday, I really want to make it until then. My best friend came over yesterday and organized the closet in the nursery for me since I am now unable to do it, and she helped me pack my hospital bags too.  My mom made us some home made lasagnas for dinners and I’m eating some now as we speak, it’s so nice to have family and friends around to help.  We are very lucky.

I’ll update again at the next turn of developments!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

sprung! 35w2d

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sue  |  October 2, 2008 at 1:22 am

    Saturday is only a few days away, you can do it. Yes, easier said then done but you also know that it will be worth it! I’m sending you the best of luck.

  • 2. sara  |  October 2, 2008 at 9:20 pm

    Just wanted to wish you the best of luck as the week goes forward and some smooth sailing towards the weekend. Been on bedrest for weeks myself, and I’m sorry to see you joining the ranks. But I hope that the time flies by, seems like you have some great support. Isn’t that just the best when you’re feeling cooped up and ready to spring out of the house? I’ll keep you in my thoughts for you to have that little one safe and home in no time!

  • 3. Kim  |  October 2, 2008 at 10:46 pm

    Popping in from L&F. Did they do a 24 hour urine? I am really surprised that they let you go home, especially if they didn’t do one. I was admitted to Antepartum at 36 weeks when my BP hit around 160/100. Even with hospital bedrest, it was still off the wall – it actually still is 11 weeks later! An u/s showed that my fluid had dropped by more than half in just a few days, and I delivered at 37w1d. I never developed Preeclampsia.. mine stayed at PIH – but things happened SO QUICKLY. The week before all of this, my BP’s were only a teeny tiny bit high – and just a few days later, wham. Anyway.. take care of yourself and take your BP at home. Be sure to ask for a 24 hour urine if they didn’t do one.. and even if they did, ask to repeat everything in a few days!

  • 4. Sugar & Ice  |  October 4, 2008 at 6:42 pm

    Here’s to hoping for a little more time in the oven for your little one. If it makes you feel any better, I just delivered twins last week, they were a couple days shy of 36 weeks, and they are doing great…no time in the NICU and were able to come straight home with me after I recovered.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 18,443 hits

