today i am 30

August 30, 2008 at 12:53 am 5 comments

Every birthday, anniversary and gift-giving holiday my husband asks me this:  So, what do you want?”  He’s not the creative-romantic-thoughtful gift type in the traditional sense but he can make me a mean cup of tea, clean up the dishes like nobody’s business and father my son in a way that makes me tear up daily — so I love him just the same.  Anyways, for the past three years this has been my response to every single time he’s asked me this question. “A baby.  All I want is a baby.”  And he looks at me with a sadness in his eyes, “I’m trying honey.  I’m trying.” And we hug and look at Sweetlove and are ever so grateful for the blessing he is and what we do have. 

But TODAY, today on my 30th birthday, I can finally ask for something irrelevant and frivolous and not feel a lump in my throat and an ache in my heart that overshadows every birthday, anniversary and holiday for the last three years. Because I’ve got a baby in my belly and I feel more blessed, more fortunate, more lucky, more content than ever in my life.  The rest is just gravy.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

29 weeks 32 weeks

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sugar & Ice  |  August 30, 2008 at 9:27 pm

    What a wonderful birthday present!

  • 2. Sue  |  August 31, 2008 at 6:23 am

    Happy Birthday. Enjoy the special day and the new life growing inside you.

  • 3. canape  |  September 1, 2008 at 7:10 pm

    I’m sorry I’m late to wish you a happy happy birthday!

    I hope you got something completely frivolous and a yummy scrumptious cake to boot!

  • 4. Tigger  |  September 1, 2008 at 8:21 pm

    I’m sorry I’m late too – I’ve been gone all weekend and am still trying to find all my bloggers while I’m not home! I hope you had a wonderfully happy and frivolous birthday – do tell us all about it!!

  • 5. tigger  |  September 10, 2008 at 6:57 pm

    Just checking in on you, to see how things are going with you, baby, and mom!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 18,446 hits

