pain: welcome to 28 weeks

August 14, 2008 at 10:08 am 1 comment

I’m starting to go a bit crazy with this lack of sleep mixed together with unending pelvic and hip pain.  Now it’s also shooting down my legs and when I walk I can hear clicking in my pelvis.  I spend the whole day trying to avoid positions that heighten the pain and the whole night trying to stand it so I can sleep, which is working less and less each day.  Getting in and out of the car is like torture.  Standing up or walking up stairs is terrible.  I’m pretty sure this is all symptoms of a condition called SPD which when I talked to my OB about he said physio is pretty much my only option and from what I’ve read it is pretty painful and doesn’t really help all that much.  At this point I sleep for about 20 minutes and then wake up in pain somewhere that keeps me awake forever – last night it was across the bottom of my uterus and I was afraid my incision was rupturing or something, but it was only when I moved onto my left side so that made me think it was a straining of the muscles or ligaments.  I have also noticed my baseline blood pressure has gone up 10 points on both the top and bottom and I am wondering if this trend is telling me the party is ending soon or is it the pain that causes the increase?  I don’t know.  I am just really frustrated that I can’t barely move or function and I’ve still got a ways to go.  I think the cumulative effect of not sleeping is making me feel even more grumpy about the whole thing too. 

Hurumph.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

an interesting prenatal appt 29 weeks

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. tigger  |  August 15, 2008 at 5:41 pm

    I wonder if you’re allowed to take something like Tylenol PM? It’s just a basic OTC med, with acetaminophen and a mild (and I do mean mild) sleep aid. I took it a lot when my hips were bothering me so much and it helping a bit. Doesn’t make me sleepy, just helps me stay asleep and the acetaminophen helped with the pain just enough to let me ignore it to sleep. Lack of sleep causes the pain to “feel” worse, because your body is hypersensitive. People used to tell me “You need more sleep – you’ll feel better!” Yeah, right…I’d have LOVED to sleep, I just couldn’t!

    Anyway, maybe ask your doc about that. I don’t know what pg class it is, or if you’re allowed to take acetaminophen – been too long since I accessed that info in my brain!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 18,446 hits

