25w3d

July 30, 2008 at 9:55 am 5 comments

I can’t tell you how good it felt to hit the 25 week threshold!  When I hit 20 weeks I started panicking because I knew that now preeclampsia could develop but when I hit 25 weeks I knew if it did, this baby would have a chance.  So 20-25 weeks was really internally stressful for me.  Phew.  This graphic sits on my desktop and I refer to it in moments of panic.  Baby is very active these days, and he responds to nudging, noise, food, all sorts of things that I find amusing during the solitary time.  I am testing my urine for glucose and protein regularly myself just to ensure if anything develops in between appointments that we catch it.  And I take my blood pressure twice a day.  It’s resting nicely around 110/65 and I’m just so thankful I haven’t had to start hypertensive meds at all yet.  I hope things continue on this path but kind of feel like the clock is ticking too.  The carpal tunnel has backed off a lot – I don’t feel the pain in my fingers as often or as much and the swelling has lessened.  I’m dealing with a lot of hip pain these days though – and I would trade it for anything!  Both hips are just hurting so bad I can’t get into any comfortable position in bed and for the last two days I’ve now got shooting pain down my legs so I’m thinking sciatica might be the issue here.  I have taken to sleeping in the recliner downstairs because otherwise I’m up all night rolling from side to side to relieve the pressure on my hips and every time I roll, my bladder gets a nice shove and I have to get up to go pee.  I’ve tried all sorts of pillow arrangements and nothing seems to help.  And I’ve got 12 more weeks of this!!!  And it will only get worse I’m sure!  I’m as big as a house, even A says so 😉 but in a nice way of course, and he knows I like to hear it as it reminds me I have a baby inside of me and how blessed I am. 

I have been feeling really super lucky these days with my pregnancy going relatively complication free and so different from my last one.  I truly believe God is sparing me so I can be here for my mom as a support during her difficult time.  Speaking of mom, she had her first chemo treatment yesterday which involved 6 hours of IV transfusion of poison into her system.  It’s been over 24 hours and she’s still feeling relatively good – she says she feels “flu-ish” with aching joints, flush and sore but nothing severe enough to keep her in bed so I am just so relieved by this.  Her onc.ologist says that everyone reacts differently to the chemo and there is no way to predict one person’s response.  I hope this isn’t pre-empting the worst of it, she still has anothe 24 hours to get really sick.  She’s all I can think about these days I swear.  I took Sweetlove over to their place the night before her chemo for a little fix, she misses him so much and he is the best medicine she says.  We explained to him that Grandma would be losing her hair pretty soon and she tried on her new wig for him and we all giggled and tried it on ourselves, and he took it in stride like a child always does.  As adults we often attach our own worldly fears to simple things like losing hair and what that “means” but kids just take it for what it is and it is not scary or anything, it just is what it is.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

conversation with my 4 year old an interesting prenatal appt

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alisha  |  July 30, 2008 at 4:16 pm

    Crossing my fingers for you that you make it to the end PE free!!
    Aside from your hips, sounds like everything is going really well. That’s great!

  • 2. Sugar & Ice  |  July 30, 2008 at 7:04 pm

    I felt the same way…not out of fear of PE, but out of fear of pre-term labor b/c of the twin factor. Every week I get a little more confident that everything will pan out in the end.

  • 3. canape  |  July 30, 2008 at 8:09 pm

    Not that you asked, but my mom says that the best piece of advice she got from her chemo nurse was to take the anti-nausea drugs before you think you need them. And start with the strongest and work down to the weakest.

    She said as soon as she started doing that, the 3-4 days after chemo were much more bearable.

    I hope she is back on her feet soon!

  • 4. tigger  |  July 30, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    Your mom may not lose her hair at all. Mine didn’t, the first time around – it wasn’t until they had to change her treatment that she did. It’s now growing back in curly (it was stick striaght) and baby fine…feels like a freshly washed poodle! LOL

    Your mom seems pretty positive, which is a very good thing. You seem to be doing pretty well yourself, which is also good.

    Congrats on 25weeks! Here’s to 12 more…

  • 5. fitnesschick  |  July 30, 2008 at 11:22 pm

    I had severe HELLP symdrome myself the first time around and am currently 17 weeks along with the second so I am so glad to hear that you are doing well so far and I will continue to hope for the best for you and your mom.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 18,458 hits

