not the news we were hoping for

July 22, 2008 at 9:30 am 6 comments

The pathology report came back with end.ometr.ial ca.ncer in her fall.opian tub.e, her ce.rvix and in one of the lym.ph no.des they removed.  This means she is st.age 3-C.  Not the news we wanted to hear obviously.  But there are some hopeful results too – the tumor hadn’t grown since diagnosis, there was no can.cer in the flu.ids surrounding her ut.erus and only supe.rficial evidence in the lining which are strong indicators for a hopeful prog.nosis.  The fact they found it in one of the lym.ph nodes automatically drops her down to a Sta.ge 3 which really sucks because her sur.vival rate statistic drops quite a bit with that stage as well.  I was with her when she got the call this morning and she had me on the other phone taking notes for her so we wouldn’t miss any important information.  I then went and picked up the pathology report so we could see exactly what we were dealing with (ie what the doctor didn’t offer up on the phone which was actually quite a bit) and I was able to help her see the more positive aspects of this news.  She is fortunate (stupid word to use I know but I’m at a loss here) to have a can.cer that can be removed completely with the organs it has grown into and it was only “micros.copic” evidence in the one lymp.h node, not a gross invasion – so hopefully that means we caught it early enough.  I don’t really know, I’m just trying to remain positive for her sake.  She starts a 3 mo.nth round of ch.emo a week from Monday and then radi.ation treat.ment will follow.  I am kind of numb to be honest, I haven’t let myself cry yet – I can’t fall apart.  I just can’t.  The news could have been better, but it also could have been worse and that’s what I keep telling myself.  Fuck.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

mom’s surgery mmmmm… cinn.abon!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jackie  |  July 22, 2008 at 6:10 pm

    I am so sorry, Jen. I guess all I can say is that you have to focus on the positive, the good, the treatable, and help your mom get through this to get on with her life. I know that is much easier said than done, but as you and me DO know, you are absolutely right in that it could have been alot worse. Hang in there; I’m sure you are a big help and support to your mom. I know I would want my daughters near and dear to me if I were going through this; it would mean the world to me. I will continue my prayers for your mom and you and your whole family as you work through all the stages of this.

  • 2. canape  |  July 22, 2008 at 9:47 pm

    No, I think fortunate is a good word. It focuses on the positive. You are doing great. Hang in there!

  • 3. Alisha  |  July 22, 2008 at 10:41 pm

    I’ve been thinking of you and your family. You’re all in my prayers.
    BIG HUGS!!!

  • 4. Sugar & Ice  |  July 24, 2008 at 8:26 am

    I’m so sorry that the results weren’t exactly what you wanted, but your positive nature is definitely something to be proud of. Keep it up, and you guys are in my prayers!

  • 5. tigger  |  July 26, 2008 at 1:59 am

    When they discovered mom’s OC, it was pretty far along…and yet, as early as they could detect it. Cancer just has to get to be so big before they can see it…damn small cells anyhow!

    Do you know what chemo type they are going to give her? (there are a few, and the side effects differ greatly) Mom says “A positive attitude is the best thing you can take with you when you go. It’s hard, but if you can stay relatively positive you’ll be ok when all is said and done.” She also advises not falling asleep during the chemo – nurses are playful and will sometimes draw pictures on you! 🙂

    You know how to reach me, if you want/need to. 🙂

  • 6. emoboy  |  October 23, 2008 at 3:32 am

    Hey, i’ve got pics of my new emo haircut
    on http://xrl.us/ouog2

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 18,446 hits

