mom’s surgery

July 12, 2008 at 7:40 am 5 comments

Yesterday my mom had the ca.ncer in her ut.erus removed… more accurately, a ra.dical hysterecto.my including the lym.ph no.des.  The surgeon was able to do it with a lap.aroscop.ic procedure so recovery should be much easier for her than an adbominal incision would have been.  It was a very long day, the surgery was delayed a few hours due to OR time wait, but it was a quick 2.5 hours surgery time and when the doctor came to tell us how it went, my heart was in my throat.  He said it went as well as could be expected, they weren’t able to see much because they removed her uterus in one piece so the tumor inside wasn’t visible but there were no gross signs of cancer on the other parts removed or the lymph nodes.  We won’t know about staging or spread until pathology comes back in two weeks.  So we wait again.  In the meantime, mom is healing at home already.  She was released 20 hours after the surgery (!) and I spoke with her just a little while ago – the pain is making it hard for her to feel much else right now.  The ride home was apparently very painful.  I am relieved this part is over and now we can look forward to the next steps.  I find it is quite an emotional rollercoaster.  One minute we are relieved and the next we are terrified again.  I am so emotionally drained.  I haven’t been sleeping for a few nights, knowing the surgery was coming up, and by this morning I was quite the state.  Really sad, weepy, overall just spent.  I can’t really explain it, but I’m sure the exhaustion is adding to all of this.  I thought I would feel better with the good result of the surgery but I feel just as scared.  We still don’t really know any more than we did before the surgery.  Anyways, just thought I’d update on the situation as I know I’ve got some prayer warriers out there and thank you so much, it seems so far they are working!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

preparations not the news we were hoping for

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. canape  |  July 12, 2008 at 8:16 pm

    Glad that part is done now. Will keep praying for the rest.

  • 2. Alisha  |  July 12, 2008 at 8:31 pm

    My prayers are with you and your family.
    Hopefully the two weeks will fly by for you all and that there will be positive news at that time.

  • 3. Jackie  |  July 14, 2008 at 5:47 pm

    Thanks for the update, Jen, and I will continue to think about you. It is so hard just waiting. It is amazing how long a day/hour/even a minute can seem sometimes. Hang in there and take each day at a time. As you said, the first step has happened and now you can move on to the next. Keep telling your mom about little steps in your pregnancy; that will make her feel better and she will have something very positive to look forward to. I hope each day brings her less pain and that the results are good. I am very glad they were able to get it out in one piece and that they didn’t see anything else at this point. keep us posted; we are all there in your corner!!!! (and your mom’s!)
    Jackie

  • 4. tigger  |  July 16, 2008 at 3:22 am

    I wish I had encouraging words for you, something to make the waiting easier. I don’t, really. Just…try to take one day at a time, one step at a time, and don’t look too far forward. Focus on the here and now, deal with the “then” when you have to.

  • 5. Sugar & Ice  |  July 22, 2008 at 9:27 am

    In my prayers!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 18,448 hits

