in the arms of the angels

July 6, 2008 at 4:18 am 3 comments

Today the world lost an incredible young woman and God gained an angel.  Andrea Collins-Smith, aka PunkRockMommy.  She battled Inflammatory Breast Cancer for 14 months and even though I had no personal connection to her or her family, I have been reading her blog since WhyMommy mentioned her during her own IBC battle.  I’ve been reading Andrea’s blog since the early days of her diagnosis and mostly connected to her love for her children and gained amazing perspective from her in terms of living life for what it is today and loving your kids and your husband and taking each moment at its fullest.  Then my mom was diagnosed with cancer and all of a sudden, Andrea’s blog became a lifeline for me.  I poured over her posts taking all I could from them, soaking up her wisdom and gaining a better understanding of what it will be like for my mom in the months ahead.  Andrea’s strength was incredible, her journey was so difficult yet she seemed to travel it with such grace.  Her inspiration is boundless.

So today when I read her last blog post, the one she wrote to be posted after her passing, my heart sank.  Andrea was in a lot of pain and she wrote that she was ready to cross over, her body had taken enough and her soul was ready to fly.  I ache deeply for her young children and her husband.  Her friends and her family.  She was surrounded by so many incredible people who helped her care for her and her six children (including one baby) during the past year, to have that many friends and huge circle of support she must have been one hell of a woman.  Her legacy will live on in her children and as she said in her last blog, “my children will move mountains.”

So today I just wanted to take a minute out and say a few words about someone I’ve never met yet has inspired me in more ways than I can even describe.  I’m sure there are hundreds of us strangers all over the world right now feeling the same way.  She was incredible.  Andrea, you will be missed.  I trust you are in the arms of the angels finally at peace, my dear.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

summer dreams, nightmares preparations

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alisha  |  July 6, 2008 at 6:33 am

    Very sad…

  • 2. Alisha  |  July 6, 2008 at 6:38 am

    I’m really sorry for the loss of your friend…
    She seemed like a strong, positive woman who enjoyed every minute of life. I think we can all learn a lot from her; that’s for sure.

  • 3. whymommy  |  July 9, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    She will be (is) missed greatly, and it’s beautiful to read your words about her. What a beautiful tribute.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 18,443 hits

