being tested

April 12, 2008 at 3:28 am 6 comments

Ah, what a tease that last post was.  Didn’t it sound kind of like I was getting a little more positive?  Ha!  Nope.

It really feels like every step of this journey is one big test – like how BAD do you REALLY want another child?  Here… take a month in the hospital before a general anesthetic c-section delivery and see if you want to do this again.  Here… take some post partum anxiety and let me turn it into full blown panic disorder so you really aren’t sure if you can handle another child.  Here… take two years of infertility that will mess with your marriage and your whole life and show me how bad you want this.  Here… take hype.remesis grav.idium and tell me you really want to do this again.  So as you can probably tell I’m a little frustrated right now. 

I spent yesterday in the ER of the hospital for 8 hours being pumped through IV with fluids due to severe dehydration from all the vommitting and lack of being able to keep even a sip of water down over the past five days.  It took three nurses FIVE tries to get an IV in my hand because my veins were so depressed from being dehydrated and that was painful enough that I NEVER WANT TO DO THAT AGAIN.  I have no problem with needles, getting blood drawn, even IV’s don’t normally cause me distress but these FIVE tries to thread a tube through my hand veins were just brutal.  They ended up getting it in in the side of my wrist and it ached the entire time the IV was in.  Combined with nausea and lying on an uncomfortable hospital gurney all alone for a whole day surrounded by some crazies in the emergency ward – not a good day, my friends.  Not a good day.   Not to mention I’ve had to go on sick leave from work because I can’t GO to work in this condition.  Um, hi, this trimester is supposed to be the easy one for me.  I’m supposed to get complicated NEXT trimester with pregnancy induced hypertension.  Well, I’m sure things won’t disappoint – I will have that too, nevermind. 

I’m just really worn out by all this.  My wonderful mother came over today and did about a hundred loads of laundry and cleaned up my house and made me homemade chicken soup and oh yes it did help.  My house being in order makes my mind feel a little less cluttered and that does help my spirit a little, as silly as it sounds. 

But no more spotting, hey good news.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

wakey wakey 10w5d

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. canape  |  April 12, 2008 at 7:50 am

    I’m so sorry things are going so rough now. I hope this won’t last throughout the pregnancy.

    It sounds like you are hanging in there though. Yay for your mom coming and helping out! And yay for no more spotting!

  • 2. Mindy  |  April 14, 2008 at 9:47 pm

    Hypertension and preeclampsia are the leading cause of maternal death worldwide and can result in over 10,000 infant deaths in the U.S. alone. A recent medical breakthrough is helping to make these statistics a thing of the past. The MIST test is a completely non-invasive test that allows the physician to know 2 – 3 months in advance of the onset of preeclampsia. A treatment plan can then be put into place early, avoiding many of the complications of pregnancy induced hypertension, including bed-rest for the pregnancy’s duration and the dangerous symptoms of preeclampsia. With the only known “cure” for preeclampsia being delivery, find out now how you can prevent that possibility. Visit http://www.misttechnologies.com/ for more information and at 16 – 22 weeks of pregnancy start asking your doctor for the MIST test.

  • 3. Alisha  |  April 14, 2008 at 11:06 pm

    Hey Jen,
    I lived at the hospital (part-time) when I was preggie with Chloe…figure of speech. I’m sure b/c of what we’ve been through and that we’re both anxious/worrying type personalities that you’ll also be living there part-time. But the good thing is that the doc’s and nurses want to see you…they’d rather it than not. Especially with our histories.

    Happy to hear that you’re back and track (partially), and that your mom is helping. It is such a very difficult period I know. It is soo odd b/c most of my friends that I’ve spoken to have never gone through what we’ve gone through (re: the extremes of morning sickness). I wonder if the MS and the PE are not related somehow????

    I hope you’ve bought your urine sticks and have your BP machine? I know that really eased my mind…rather than having to wait for doc’s appts. to see if everything was normal.
    Anyway, baby steps chick. HOPEFULLY, you will be feeling better in no time.

  • 4. Alisha  |  April 14, 2008 at 11:07 pm

    on track, not and track… ;o)
    oooppppsss….

  • 5. Jackie  |  April 15, 2008 at 9:23 pm

    Hang in there….I know it is hard. You’ll get there, trust me. Focus on baby, baby, baby……………I thought I’d never quit throwing up (TMI); now that baby is all grown and gone 😦

  • 6. christina(apronstrings)  |  April 21, 2008 at 3:30 am

    man, i hope you feel better very soon.
    xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 18,448 hits

