hot sun here we come

March 1, 2008 at 2:38 am 2 comments

We have arrived in Cancun. And might I say… this is a LONG overdue vacation. A is filling the two man Jacuzzi tub as I speak and we will commence a lovely hot tub together overlooking the ocean within minutes… 😉 ahhh… to be newlyweds again! I plan to blog daily from here so as to keep a memory journal of our holiday, since really – we only do this once a decade! So I apologize in advance for bombarding you with our vacation escapades. And it will probably be somewhat groundhog day-ish – we are lay on the beach kind of people, not adventurers by any stretch of the imagination! Luckily A and I are incredibly alike this way, we like to lather up with sunscreen and bask in the sun for days on end. I brought four big books along for reading material, and I also hope to tackle the design and writing of our adoption profile while we are here with so much freakin’ free time!

Our alarm went off this morning at a painful 3:20 am – enough time to shower, load up the car and get to the airport by 4:30 for a 6:30 flight. We cleared US customs without a hitch, got ourselves a couple of fruit smoothies and walked into the gate right as they were boarding our plane. This time we flew Ala.ska Air since we had unused credits from our cancelled phoe.nix trip last year, and I wasn’t all that impressed with the plane. I’m kind of embarrassed to admit this but we normally fly first class with Air Can.ada so my expectations are high. Alas.ka’s first class cabin kind of sucks in comparison. The seats were nice and comfy but really low-tech – no electrical outlets or gadgets to speak of. But the service was good. A took advantage of the free drinks and kept the stewardess busy refilling his crown royal and diet pepsi… his mood got increasingly pleasant as the hours passed… hmmmm I wonder why?! We flew from Vancou.ver to Sea.ttle and then connected there to Can.cun. The day went fast and A and I enjoyed each other’s company ~ it reminded me of our honeymoon 7 years ago… footloose and fancy free again! Except this time it was from our sweet little guy who we left at home and I miss like CRAZY already! We’ve already spoken over webcam tonight so I think I’ll be ok. Just seeing his face and hearing his voice is helping.

We arrived in Canc.un to an overcast, humid day, around 4:30 pm with the new time change. We were both exhausted and ready to unload. I overpacked like I always do so we were lugged down by 5 suitcases (!!!) and two laptops… we were shuttled to the hotel – we are staying at the Mo.on Pala.ce here in Cancun and it is utterly gorgeous. Our room is right on the white sandy beach, all we can see from our bed is ocean across the entire floor to ceiling windows. We’ve got a king bed and the double Jacuzzi tub, along with a double walk-in shower as well, this is really top notch. We unpacked our stuff and got organized. We hit up the Italian restaurant for dinner and now we’ve come back to our room for a little bath and bed. We are exhausted. Everyone we see here is burnt to a crisp so the weather has to have been nice lately – I vow to NOT burn though, both A and I have done a few tanning bed sessions to prepare ourselves for the hot Mexican sun and we will put on lots of sunscreen!

Adios, ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh…. don’t be too jealous 😛

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

adoption meeting stumbles mcgee they call me

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kirsten Eide  |  March 1, 2008 at 4:10 am

    I’m officially jealous…

  • 2. Alisha  |  March 3, 2008 at 12:39 pm

    I’m secondly jealous 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 18,442 hits

