And on we go…

December 27, 2007 at 11:54 pm 3 comments

I am so glad Christmas is O.V.E.R.

I mean, I enjoy the holiday, I do – but the best part for me are the preparations for Christmas – picking out the presents, wrapping them (my favorite!), putting up the tree, talking with Sweetlove about Santa Claus and Baby Jesus and all that it means, making Christmas goodies and little treats for all the special people in our lives. But when the day actually comes and we are running all over town trying to spend time with each and every relative? That part I don’t really enjoy. Everything is always so rushed and anti-climactic, it seems. I remember as a child, the holiday was so care free. So full of lazy days and excitement. As a mother and the household charge, I find it to be hectic, busy and stressful. Ahhh….growing up sucks, don’t it? But Christmas through the eyes of your child is also pretty magical, I must admit.

We did have a lovely Christmas. Sweetlove got totally spoiled and so did A and I. We were given way too much money from generous relatives but it will help us immensely towards our Mexico vacation in two months, that’s for sure. A. gave me a beautiful silver necklace with a rectangular silver locket engraved with Sweetlove’s name… made me cry. He also gave me a sewing machine which I’ve been asking for (and knew was coming). I plan to sew a baby quilt for my best friend’s baby-on-the-way first, which I am so excited about starting. I have been hankering to sew for ages now and decided the “nursery” will finally get some good use – even if it’s not for a sleeping baby. My own anyhow.

You’ll all remember my good friend who had twins at 34w5d back in November? Well they are just over 5 weeks old now, and I’ve had the pleasure of spending a lot of time with them over the past few weeks, they are just pure sweetness. Next weekend (as in a week from tomorrow) my friend is turning 30 and is planning a weekend getaway with her husband – bravely I must say with such brand new newborns – and she’s asked me to take care of her baby girl for the weekend while the baby boy will be with her in-laws. Can you spell HONOURED? Seriously, I can’t even tell you how much it means to me that she would trust me with her little 6 lb precious daughter for her first time away from her. Of course, I have the nursery all set up and all my friends use me for their home away from home, which I love so much, and would have it no other way. She isn’t breastfeeding so formula feeding will be easy – except she does wake every three hours still so it will be a sleepless weekend, but I don’t mind. In fact, its all I’m thinking about! Being infertile makes it hard to talk about pregnancies with other pregnant women, but for me, being with babies just soothes my soul. I can’t really explain it. Like at our Christmas party with my best friend last weekend, the talk centered around pregnancy a lot of the night and I was on the verge of tears for the entire time. I just wanted to escape into the walls and cry my eyes out. It was so hard. Two years is coming you guys – March will be two friggin years of this hell. Please God, let me make it through that month without a mental breakdown.

I’m back at work today already while A enjoys the rest of the week off with Sweetlove, playing trains and crashing cars. I’m sure they are having fun together.

I am going to post some pictures from our Christmas later tonight so stay tuned!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Ugh. a weekend made in heaven

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. maryellenandsteve  |  December 28, 2007 at 2:52 pm

    How exciting that you get to spend the weekend with that precious baby girl. Can’t wait to see your pics!

  • 2. canape  |  December 28, 2007 at 3:47 pm

    You will make it. Because you are strong.

    And it’s so cool that you get to keep your friend’s little girl! That will be a wonderful weekend.

    Looking forward to the pictures 🙂

  • 3. Alisha  |  January 3, 2008 at 11:46 am

    That is sooo sweet that your friend asked you to take care of her little bundle. OMG! I’m sure you will love every minute of it. I think you made the right decision in starting the process of becoming a nurse Jen. I truly believe that is what you are meant to do. Specifically, a nurse that heals little souls to health.
    I can deny that I don’t get emotional most times that I read your posts. Anyway, I am soo happy to have read that you had a beautiful Christmas with your family. Ante’s gift sounds beautiful!

    And I’m hoping and praying that you won’t even make the 2 year mark!!! We’ll be here either way…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 18,446 hits

