prayers…

September 17, 2007 at 3:53 am 4 comments

One of my best friends (IRL) who was recently successful getting pregnant with twins after her 2nd IVF is in the hospital tonight at 25w3d with preterm labour. I was at the hospital with her today, she’s trying to be brave but she’s scared to death. The doctors want to see her get to 28 weeks at the least, those two babes need every day they can get. She is on strict bedrest and will be there until she gives birth, hopefully later than sooner. So if you could please pray for her and those two little ones, she can’t seem to catch a break and she needs all the prayers she can get. It brought back many memories of my own hospital stay with my pregnancy with Sweetlove and I know these next weeks, hopefully months, will be difficult for her – I hope to be as much support as she’ll allow me to give her, it’s not easy in there. Especially at such a perilous stage of her pregnancy, I can not imagine what she is feeling right now.

We came home yesterday from Calgary, a day earlier than expected. We changed our flights to come home last night – the wedding festivities were over and we were anxious to get home. I’m glad we did now that I know my friend needed me here.

It was a difficult few days to say the least. I got a positive OPK the morning we left and I spent all day Thursday and Friday with horrendous cramping and pain in my ovaries, omg, I had forgotten the clomid hell during ovulation. Walking through the airports, waiting for the shuttles, standing around, sitting in cramped airplanes, not exactly the way I would have preferred things. Nonetheless, we had to do what we had to do and there we were. We arrived late to the hotel and headed up to our room to do the “deed”, with an hour to get ‘er done while Sweetlove was with my parents. My cousins were all drunk and spent that hour banging on our door and hollering through the walls, it was awful. It was the worst way to be under pressure but we managed! The wedding was Friday afternoon at the hotel and the reception followed. My cousin was beautiful and it was an emotional night. I saw a lot of family that I hadn’t seen in years, decades even, and it was nice to see everyone for sure. A tough part of the night was the dedication to my uncle who couldn’t make it because he is in advanced stages of fron.tal lo.be dime.nsia and his absence was sorely missed. I can’t really explain why it hit everyone so hard that night, but even my dad (my uncle’s brother) had to compose himself a few times. I’ve never seen my father cry. Or my other uncles. Being on “clomood myself”, I was in tears basically the whole night. A disease like this to affect a young man like my uncle and our whole family, so tragic. It is a lot to deal with. Our family is very close and it is the first real terminal illness we’ve had to endure, and I can only imagine how much harder it will get as time goes on.

Anyways, it looks as if ovulation did occur, I’m waiting for one more high temp to confirm it but I am fairly positive we’re in the clear. We managed to BD on all the right days despite the crappy timing. I am hoping beyond hope that this cycle ~ my first cycle ever to ovulate on day 14 ~ is the lucky one. I know, I know, how silly right? Ah well, it’s gotta be our turn soon!

Gotta run, the Emmy’s await!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

CD 13 back to regular scheduled programming

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. canape  |  September 17, 2007 at 1:16 pm

    Lucky 14. It sounds good!

    So sorry about your uncle. I know you’ve talked about him before, but it is so hard when the “whole” family gets together and there is that absence. That hole in the fabric.

    Prayers for your friend. And for you too. You’ve got a lot of people in that TTW with you 🙂

  • 2. maryellenandsteve  |  September 18, 2007 at 12:50 am

    Hope this cycle is it! 🙂 Your friend is in my thoughts and prayers.

  • 3. Alisha  |  September 24, 2007 at 1:51 pm

    I hope that those babes hold out for as long as possible. Would love to hear that things turn out really well for her so keep us posted.
    She’s in my thoughts and prayers.

    And I really hope hope hope that this will be it for you this time girl. Crossing my fingers and toes for you!

  • 4. canape  |  September 29, 2007 at 7:35 pm

    Just thinking about you and the waiting. Hoping you are doing okay.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 18,458 hits

