the neverending cycle

July 27, 2007 at 9:07 pm 4 comments

I really am having a hard time blogging lately. It’s ridiculous how much of NOTHING is going on with our TTC quest, in fact it’s so unremarkable – it’s now remarkable. I am on …get this…day 61 of this cycle with no ovulation in sight. Yep, those injectibles sure screwed me up! The injectibles cycle was the one before this one, so this “natural” cycle following is probably my longest in history and I haven’t had an anovulatory cycle in over a year, and it wasn’t near this long. Plus I’ve had 3 days of spotting that abruptly ended a few days ago and no AF came. Also something that has never happened to me. I had an appt scheduled to see my RE this coming Monday to discuss this nightmare cycle, but his office called yesterday to cancel it due to conflicting surgery he was called in to do, and the next soonest appt to see him is AUGUST 15th!!!! Needless to say, I wasn’t impressed. Plus I’m going to the lake for the next ten days and I really didn’t want to start a cycle while I was away without an Rx of clomid with me. I tried to convince the nurse at the RE’s office to talk to my RE and explain the situation but they said no, I had to come in for an appt. Makes sense I guess. However I am not one to give up that easily! I have a really good relationship with my family doctor and I see her quite a bit (for other issues) and update her on what’s going on at the RE’s office, plus she’s been my doc for 15 years. I made a last minute visit to my PCP and begged her to give me a prescription, explaining to her that my fertility doc was planning to put me on it and now that I can’t get in to see him, I really don’t want another cycle to come and go without the meds. Luckily she gave it to me, and I may not even need it if I don’t get a period before August 15th, but just in case right? And I had an u/s two weeks ago and everything looked fine so I’m not worried about taking the clomid without another u/s. And I know my RE would have prescribed it because he wanted me to take it last cycle and I declined, asking to take a break for a cycle first. So… that’s the update. I am trying not to focus on how frustrating it is to have a 61+ day cycle, and focus more on the nice break it has been from all this for the last two months. And how absolutely READY I am to get back on the fertility horse and try again. I would do IVF tomorrow if I could convince A to do it, and I would never have said that two months ago, so I know something inside me has changed. A break really does make the difference.

A’s little brother is getting married tomorrow and Sweetlove is the ringbearer, so cute. At the rehearsal last night, we met the flower girl, also 3 1/2, and they are adorable together, they practiced walking down the isle holding hands, omg, it was a sight to behold. Afterwards a group from there went back to my in-law’s house for drinks but it was pretty late and Sweetlove needed to get to bed. Then I heard that A’s cousin was going to bring her 6 day old baby girl to their house and the thought of that – I don’t know – I just really wasn’t up for that. So we are staying in town for the wedding tomorrow, and then heading up to the lake first thing Sunday morning. My last week of holidays it just rained buckets for the entire time, but this time the weather looks stellar so I’m really looking forward to it. We get home August 7th. I hope everyone is enjoying their summers!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

i’d rather be puking in the back room we’re back!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. canape  |  July 30, 2007 at 1:24 am

    61? Seriously? Dang. You have more patience than anyone I know.

    It sounds like your trip will be fun though. I bet Sweetlove in a tux will be too adorable for words!

  • 2. Mary Ellen  |  July 31, 2007 at 6:53 pm

    Wow that is a long cycle. Good grief.

    Enjoy your trip!!

  • 3. Alisha  |  August 7, 2007 at 6:19 pm

    Ditto on having lots of patience…61 days is really crappy 😦

    Anyway, I hope things look up for you. You know you’re in my prayers.

    Hope you had fun at the wedding and that A. made it down the aisle successfully. Ava is in a wedding party this coming Feb., and I have very strong doubts that she’ll be going anywhere near the aisle. HA! It takes her FOREVER to do something new, and then throw in a room full of people…I really doubt it will happen. I might have to carry her down. Anyway, I hope he made it and I hope you all had a fab time!

    Will be nice to have you back to posting regularly. This way we know how you’re doing girl! 🙂

    Peace,
    Alisha

  • 4. Delenn  |  August 10, 2007 at 3:24 pm

    Sweetlove is such a cutie! Love the pictures!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 18,443 hits

