playing the interview meme

June 9, 2007 at 10:13 pm 2 comments

Thanks to Canape, I am excited to answer my first interview meme! I love to talk about myself, so here goes! However I must warn you I’m not that exciting…

1. How did you and your husband meet?
We met in the summer of 1997, I was a cool, fresh 19 years old. I had experienced a lot in my short 19 years so by then I was ready to meet the love of my life, little did I know it at the time. I was single and loving it, spending my nights at the bars and my weekends partying til the sun came up… ah, it was the life of a university student totally unfocused on her studies…

So anyways, a few girlfriends of mine had boyfriends who played on a local baseball team and it was national championship weekend for the league. They called me to come along and watch their boyfriends’ game, hinting there was a total hottie on the team who was single and impossible to catch, was I up to the challenge? Never one to shy away from that kind of temptation, I made a decision that would change the course of my life in that very moment. I sat in the bleachers as my friend Jackie pointed out the third baseman. That was him, she said. And really, truly, it was love at first sight. I could tell he was a soft hearted guy with the looks of a tough guy.  It was something in his eyes.  He was tall, muscular, handsome, dark hair, dark skin, the most amazing green eyes.  After the game was over, I was introduced to him. He was surprisingly shy. It was a quick hello and we all talked about going to one of the player’s places for the after party that night to celebrate the big win. Of course, I was so going to be there.  He and I spent the evening sitting on a log in the backyard of some guy’s house, talking talking talking, we couldn’t take our eyes off eachother. It was truly like there was no one else there, even though there was at least 80 other party goers in that yard. When 2am came, my friend Jackie told me it was time to go, so he walked me to her car and I put my hand out to shake his hand, he pulled me in and said “Can I kiss you?” oh my god, my heart melted. I said something to the effect of YES and he kissed me right there and then. It wasn’t anything long and passionate, just right though. I walked away, dizzy as anything, got into Jackie’s car and screamed the whole way home. He called me the next day and we went out for our first date, lunch at To.ny Ro.mas. And the rest is history… truly.

2. What is your favorite way to wake up in the morning?
My favorite way to wake up is to the sound of my 3 year old whispering “mama! mama!” in my face… I open my eyes to the sweetest thing, it always starts out right.

3. What is the rudest thing someone has said to you in your journey through secondary infertility and how did you handle it?
“Maybe God isn’t letting you get pregnant again because you might die if you do.”
I had a high risk pregnancy with Sweetlove, so I do “get” people’s concerns, but seriously? I worry enough for everyone, I don’t need other people telling me I’m not getting pregnant because I might die if I do. I just stared at her in disbelief and as soon as she said it, she apologized and said that really sounded bad, I’m sorry. I said you better be, cuz yeah, that was totally out of line. And that was it.

4. Do you prefer yard work or house work?
My DH is in the landscape industry so the outside stuff is all his territory, and I’m totally okay with that because I really don’t like getting my hands dirty. Ugh, that makes me sound like such a princess, and I kind of am, but I really don’t enjoy the outside yard work stuff. I do, on the other hand, have a strange passion for folding laundry. I love it. It makes me feel complete. So weird, I know.

5. Do you have any pets or did you have any as a child?
No pets in our family at the moment. We had lots of cats growing up (one at a time I mean) and my cat Simon still lives with my parents. We tried bringing him with us when we got married and moved into an apartment downtown but he hated being inside and cried insesantly so we let him move back in with my parents. He’s much happier there, and we love to visit him. And he stays with us when my parents go to their place on the lake. So we kind of have a kitty, but it’s more part time custody.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

a little perspective doin’ ok

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. canape  |  June 10, 2007 at 1:18 am

    That was awesome. I love stories of how people met. And, I’m not surprised that you stood up to the big mouth with no tact (get ’em, Jen).

    And and, I had a cat that stayed behind when I left home too. He lived to be 20. Refused to die, that stubborn cat.

  • 2. Alisha  |  June 11, 2007 at 7:00 pm

    cute story on how u met your hubbie…sorry typing w 1 hand…holding chloe.
    i can’t wait 4 ava/chloe to wake me up the way luka wakes u.
    at the moment ava calls out “mommy” since she’s gated in her room (stairs)…1 day she’ll be big enough to run in too…

    very sweet!!! nice to see some happiness in this posting…
    🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 18,442 hits

