oh, for fuck’s sake!

May 31, 2007 at 11:43 pm 6 comments

Excuse my language, but …

First of all, thank you all so much for your wonderful feedback on my last post. All of you were so insightful and brought up some good points. And of course, I totally agree. A. has given me a total committment to quit drinking alcohol period, quit smoking weed period, he’s bought the patch and he’s starting it on Saturday for his smoking and he’s cutting down on his coffee, so really… he stepped it up big time. He must have heard me. I am so appreciative of that, and feeling like we can do this together now that we’re on the same page and both invested.

OK, so now for my appt with the RE yesterday morning. I had my baseline scan and thankfully I just have the one cyst (old faithful) that I’ve been dealing with for months and none others left over. However my period has been mega painful and mega heavy, I’m still bleeding heavily and it’s day 4. After the ultrasound, I went back to his office with him to discuss future treatment. Here’s were it gets shitty and I will write a post about it soon, but its so long and complicated I don’t have the mind for it right now. I’ll just say that I’m taking a month off from treatment and he’s going to monitor me with bloodwork and ultrasound close to my natural ovulation to see what is going on during a natural cycle. Plus I need the break. So that’s that.

Now for the “oh, for fuck’s sake” part. I’ve had baaaadddddd cramps and backache for the past few days but that’s all very normal period related. Then last night, things went weird on me. My lower right back started to sear. I mean, holy fuck sear. It radiated forward around my lower abdomen and I took some advil, tried a heating pad and then went to sleep, or tried to. I woke up about 4am hardly able to breathe the pain was so severe. I woke up A. and said, honey we have to go to the hospital NOW. (Thank god Sweetlove stayed at his Grandma’s last night so we didn’t have to worry about him.) I almost passed out on the way in the car from the pain, it was worse than labor and I really mean that. It was taking my breath away. I was immediately hooked up to IV morphine once in emergency and wow, can I say RELIEF? Yeah so once I stopped panting in agony, the doctor ran some bloodwork, I had an ultrasound of my kidneys, gallbladder and liver and they found kidney stones. I have never had anything of the sort so I wasn’t prepared for what that meant. After spending the day in the hospital, I am now home with some perco.cet and I’m waiting for the stones to pass, on high alert to go back to the hospital when the pain becomes more than I can handle (doctors words!). So yeah, it’s been quite a day. And oh, for FUCK’S SAKE! Like I really need this right now?!

Anyone had kidney stones before? How long does it take to pass them? And does it hurt as badly as I’ve been told? Worse than the pain I’m feeling right now?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

It Takes Two, Baby. a little perspective

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. canape  |  June 1, 2007 at 12:05 am

    Geeeeeez! That is too much. I’ve never had kidney stones before – but it sounds like it can’t hurt much worse than you already are!

    You deserve some sort of medal for surviving lately. You amaze me.

    And that husband of yours? Wow. He is really stepping up – I’m more than a little impressed.

  • 2. Hez  |  June 1, 2007 at 10:44 pm

    I wanted to wish you a peaceful month off, and a quick recovery from the kidney stones. That does not sound fun at all.

  • 3. Alisha  |  June 3, 2007 at 2:54 am

    Shyte, poor you! I hope you recover quickly. From what I’ve heard…kidney stones are not pretty. Keep popping the percocets baby!

  • 4. Kirby  |  June 3, 2007 at 3:14 am

    Umm, I’ve never had them. But to put it into perspective:

    A famous Ironman triathlete (as in the guys who race for hours in Hawaii) passed out and collapsed when he passed one. He said it was worse than any pain he has ever been in, including the time he ran a couple miles with a spiral fracture in his femur.

    Go for the morphine early and often and remember … this too shall pass. 🙂

  • 5. Mary Ellen  |  June 4, 2007 at 6:38 pm

    Oh no! That’s awful! I have never had kidney stones. I hope that it’s not too terrible. Thinking of you.

  • 6. Heidi  |  June 5, 2007 at 9:50 pm

    I just came over to check in on you and realized that you must have been on my mind more than I’d thought…I just posted with the same damn title, minues the coma, apostrophe and exclamation point. (Hmmm…I thought fuck’s sake should be possessive but I was too pissy to care.) I feel like a total fuckwad, but I can’t think of anything else that describes what I’m feeling right now. I hope you’ll forgive me!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 18,448 hits

