If a tree falls in the forest and no one is there to listen, did it make any noise?

April 16, 2007 at 5:47 pm 2 comments

So just like I thought, I ovulated an “invisible” egg on Saturday night (or early Sunday morning according to my estimations) and by this morning, my temp has shot right up .6º F – even a bigger jump than I normally have on 1 DPO.And I’ve figured out by researching all the data available on the internet that you can not have a progesterone surge (which is reflected in a biphasic BBT chart) without a follicle’s corpus luteum releasing the progesterone hormone. So a follicle had to release an egg in order for the corpus luteum to even exist. Hence I must have ovulated. Hence my RE is either blind or I have some seriously screwed up ovary positioning. Now I’m just mad at myself for not listening to my gut and having the IUI done. When I was on the phone with the RE, he said that he’d do the insemination, it wouldn’t be harmful but what would be the point since there was no follicle? Well I didn’t want to sound like a crazy infertile and say um, I know you are a doctor but I’ve been trained at the college of Google in WWW, and I know better. I now regret that decision. Of course, my 7dpo bloodwork will prove it for once and for all, if in fact my progesterone is high enough to confirm what I already know, to the doctor.

I have an appt with him on Thursday morning, and I’m dragging A with me for moral support. We need to discuss next cycle treatment and how we can even do treatment when I have invisible follicles. Because this is the 2nd cycle in a row that he’s been unable to find anything and sure enough, I ovulated both times.

I have been doubled over in pain for the past four days, my ovaries have been screaming bloody murder, and my back is feeling awful too. I’ve been nauseated and headache plagued, so to summarize – my poor husband had quite a miserable weekend dealing with ME and the three year old. He’s a dear soul, I am so lucky to have him. So on Saturday night, when we were planning to go to my close friend’s 29th birthday party – at their house with 20 of our closest friends – some of whom came in from out of town, I was bummed that I was feeling like such utter crap. It was to be a night of drinking, charades and karaoke. And I really wanted to go because it was a chance to ESCAPE my mind, my thoughts for a night, escape the pain if I could, and just have FUN. And laugh. And be the only sober one there of course (which I don’t mind cuz I’m not a drinker, just watching everyone else act a fool is entertaining enough).

So I sucked it up and made myself as pretty as I could (because when you look better you feel better right?) and just had a wonderful time. There were periods where I had to hold my breath and step away because I was feeling like I was going to puke, but by about 10:30 I was feeling well enough to forget, and we partied until 1:30 am. It was so nice. Sometimes you just need that. Sweetlove was staying at G&G’s house overnight and they dropped him off at DeDu.tch in the morning where we were having a nice breakfast. Another thing we never make time to do, go out for breakfast on Sunday morning.

So all in all – this weekend was good and bad, but the good overshadows the bad. I ovulated and in turn, we had lots of sex (hehe) and we enjoyed an evening of just being young and in love again. Screw the pain, I’m using my mind filter and I am going to remember the good parts!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Grrrr…. WHY IS THIS HAPPENING ??? my chart

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mary Ellen  |  April 17, 2007 at 5:42 pm

    How frustrating. I would definitely let you RE know how you feel about the whole thing after you get your bloodwork done. Hopefully your BD will work and all of this will be moot.

    I am so glad that you and your hubby had a good weekend together. It sounds like you needed it. Thinking of you.

  • 2. Becks  |  April 18, 2007 at 5:11 pm

    You must be so frustrated. Does your RE know what he’s doing? IS it worth switching? Hope you can sort things out next month and have lots more fun in the meantime.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 18,443 hits

