Hopeful

February 21, 2007 at 10:15 pm 2 comments

Today was a major milestone in our TTC journey. Our first appt with a Reproductive Endocrinologist (RE). I took my husband with me so he could be involved in this process and maybe open his eyes a little bit to the complexities of infertility and what it is going to take to overcome this roadblock in creating our family. And for moral support. So I was incredibly nervous when we arrived. Then I had my “favorite” three things done – my weight, my blood pressure and my picture taken. Great, I thought. If this is a sign of things to come, maybe we should leave. Now. Quick. Let’s go. No, A said. Jen sit down. Calm down. This is all going to be fine. I’m so nervous around doctors since my pregnancy, fearing bad news all the time. Fearing test results. Fearing exams. So A held my hand and we waited in the doctor’s fancy top floor office. Sat in his fancy chairs. I looked around and saw his many diplomas and certificates. Intimidating. But felt I was in good hands too. Since our visit, I have decided to name him Dr. Your Choice…for now. So basically he said I’ve had all the testing as far as HSG, bloodwork, u/s, etc. that he would order for a diagnosis and we are officially “Unexplained Infertility”. My big theory about having low progesterone… nope. He didn’t think so. He thought my 7dpo progerstone b/w looked fine. He’s the pro, so I’ll believe him.

To sum it up, he said it’s really up to us to decide how to move forward. We could do more clomid with natural conception, more clomid with IUI, injectibles with IUI or IVF. He thought we were too young to go that aggressive quite yet (IVF). But again, he said, depending on your urgency level and financial capabilities – it’s your choice. He said if I decided to go with another round of clomid (which he felt was the best first step), he’d give me a higher dose than I was on the last three cycles because I ovulate on my own and feels like I need a higher dose to create more follicles. I would have regular monitoring throughout my cycle to see how my lining was responding, how many eggs were growing, how big they were, all that fun stuff that will tell him how I am responding to the clomid and then we’d make further decisions based on what we have learned from the cycle of clomid. And we *could* do IUI for that cycle if I wished, we don’t have to make that decision quite yet. So basically he said we can have another appt to discuss things in more depth if we wanted, or I could simply call him the first day of my next cycle and we can set up the day 3 ultrasound and medications at that time. We have some b/w to complete before my next cycle starts… and that’s about four weeks away so no rush.I left there feeling like a huge weight has been lifted. This wasn’t all my burden anymore. I had handed it over to a doctor who knew the direction and how we would get there. So I’m feeling positive. I’m feeling hopeful. I’m in a good place today.

Thanks you guys for being here, if you’ve made it this far. Your support means so much.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Appts & 3 Years Overcoming the Sting

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. canape  |  February 22, 2007 at 1:32 am

    Not feeling alone is so important! I’m really glad you feel as though this doctor is going to help shoulder the burden.

    This feels like great news.

  • 2. Anonymous  |  February 24, 2007 at 12:29 pm

    So nice to hear that you’re feeling positive about your experience and the future. That you don’t feel as though you’re carrying the weight of the world on your shoulders.

    Your entry put a smile on my face today because you seem happy.

    Keeping you in my prayers.

    Alisha

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 18,442 hits

