Ouch

December 13, 2006 at 5:14 am 3 comments

So how awful can you possibly feel when you trip and fall holding your friend’s baby? REALLY REALLY AWFUL. I just experienced it, and the what-if’s about what could’ve happened are running through my head, but thank god he’s OK.

I picked him up (he’s 7 weeks old) out of his car seat, sleeping soundly in my arms, turned around and walked down the hallway and proceeded to trip and fall over the diaper bag. I managed to twist my body around fast enough to fall backwards so as to keep the baby from hitting the ground in front of me where he would have been quickly squashed, held him up in the air as I crumbled backwards to the ground, hitting my head on the wall and my back on the floor. Ouch. Poor little thing barely woke up, THANK GOD. I, on the other hand, feel like I’ve been in a car accident with a screwed up back and shoulder, lump on my head and what feels like a broken knee. OK, so I’m not the most graceful faller but I did react quickly enough to keep the baby from getting hurt and that’s all that matters at the end of the day right? I felt soooooo bad, considering mommy wasn’t even at our house – daddy had brought baby over on his first time out of the house without mommy. Mommy’s friend manages to live up to her clumsiness by tripping with her first born child.

Gosh, if baby was hurt, I would have never forgiven myself. Moments like that can be life changing, agh, I just can’t stop thinking what could’ve happened. How could I have done that anyways?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Miracles Eggie, Eggie, Eggie???

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mrs Piggy  |  December 15, 2006 at 4:45 pm

    oh my!!! jen, dont worry, i think others have had those kind of moments….maybe not as dramatic as yours though. hehe
    i was babysitting my niece when she was 6 mo. and i thought id let her go for just a sec, to sit up…i had to grab something…but she went flying back and hit her head on the glass coffee table…cried for an hour…my sister was horrified, and made me feel really guilty for it 😦
    did you tell baby’s mommy or daddy?
    i dont think i could’ve!

  • 2. Sassy McSasserson  |  December 19, 2006 at 5:28 pm

    Wow way to keep your composure though and not letting the baby get hurt. That would have been tough to do! I could see that happening to me because I am so darn clumsy!

  • 3. Jen  |  December 19, 2006 at 6:12 pm

    mrs piggy – yeah, daddy was right there watching the whole thing go down – moritified as you can imagine! i called baby’s mommy and she was like, don’t worry about it, he’s just fine, stuff happens! she’s a really relaxed type of mom though so i expected her to be super understanding!

    sassy – it was super hard to keep that baby in the air but man, i am so glad i’m a slow faller, i had the time to manouever it well… and congrats again girl, send me some of that baby dust stuff!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 18,443 hits

