Heartbroken by Proxy

September 29, 2006 at 2:18 am 1 comment

A really close friend of mine had her first IVF cycle and it was not successful, I found out today. I am so sad for her, I know how long this was in the making – all the financial and emotional investment, she even had hyperstimulation of her ovaries and spent three days in the hospital before the transfer, I was actually surprised the doctors went ahead with the IVF after all that. They are going to try again with the frozen embryos but she’s having a difficult time coming to terms with the loss of this cycle. I am so sad for her today. I’ve offered her my support and let her know how sorry I am but beyond that, I’m not sure what else to say or do. She lives on the other side of the country so I can’t even give her a hug. Do any of you fellow bloggers know what I might do to help lighten her spirit?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Mid-Week Blues 100 Things About Me

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. theoneliner  |  September 29, 2006 at 10:58 pm

    i wouldn’t know what to say to your friend…but i would say something. after i had a m/c …it felt good whenever someone said “that’s not fair” or “thats horrible.” which i am sure you’ve already said.
    ***
    BTW i cannot believe that we both have an HSG on monday! Tell me you are near Atlanta….i will drive…cramps and all and meet you for a very strong cosmo : ).
    I’m afraid…luckily i have prescription strength motrin for a back injury i had…so hopefully i won’t feel much.
    i’m sure it won’t be a big deal…and we just have to focus on the fact that it may make us more fertile….

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 18,446 hits

